Want to be a part of the friendliest community on the web? Join here! Already a member? Sign-in here!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Towafan7
Towafan7
Admin
20200712

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Alien Wars Begin Anew?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Review: Ultracore (PS4 PSN) Waterm33

Developed by DICE, published by ININ, and public relations by PR Hound, Ultracore is a resurrected SEGA Genesis / SEGA Megadrive run and gun MetroidVania that has finally been released over 20 years after its cancellation. Does it live up to other gems of the genre from the 90's? We think so, but you'll have to continue reading our review to find out why!

Review: Ultracore (PS4 PSN) Waterm34

If you're interested in a run and gun platformer with exploration elements you need look no further than Ultracore a cancelled SEGA Genesis title under the original name Hardcore that was previewed in certain gaming magazines before being cancelled. The gameplay is reminiscent of Contra and features similar hardcore platforming with endless waves of enemies who try to utterly destroy you while you traverse the game's many challenging stages.

There is exploration and hidden goodies as well, but good luck finding everything since you are given a timer to beat each stage and if it runs out BOOM! The game is roughly 2-3 hours in length, but has a good amount of replayability which is always a good thing. The difficulty is stiff, but fair so no Contra (NES) hair-ripping difficulty with this title! As for the controls, they are quite straightforward and easy to learn while complex enough to give you alot of freedom of movement and shooting!

Review: Ultracore (PS4 PSN) Waterm35

The audio-visual presentation in the game is an absolute blast from the past with true Genesis/Megadrive graphics that look actually quite nice considering that the game is limited by the hardware it was originally meant to release on. The soundtrack is top-notch and is easily one of the best aspects of the game as it sounds on-par with some of the greats of the Genesis era!

Review: Ultracore (PS4 PSN) Waterm36

Bottom-Line: With superb gameplay, excellent controls, and a nearly flawless audio-visual presentation, Ultracore for the PS4 is a great game that's a blast to play and we highly recommend it to all fans of MetroidVania's and the Contra series. We give Ultracore a great level of recommendation!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Score: ★★★★★★★★¾☆ 8.75/10

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

#Review #ININ #PRHound #DICE #Action #Platformer #MetroidVania #PS4 #PSN #Switch #eShop

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

____________________________
Review: Ultracore (PS4 PSN) Rukiafan7

Funniest WiiWareQuote of August 2020!

GeekyGamerJack wrote:The Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel IV... saur?

Staroceancrazy, DigiDestined, PhoenixSage, Navi, Krazyredd, BlueRangerJack, XenobladeYuki and like this post

Share this post on:redditgoogle

Comments

Towafan7
on July 12th 2020, 11:12 pmTowafan7
Our review is now live! @BurstDashV8 @GeekyGamerJack @KokorOtaku @Son Goku 555 @Visicalc @Tech101 @KingreX32 @Sneaker @SKTTR You have been summoned! Wink

Staroceancrazy, DigiDestined, BlueRangerJack, XenobladeYuki, Kain, catfood, Aqua Cherry Blossom and Kitty Cat Meow Meow like this post

RWBY_Red
on July 13th 2020, 9:22 amRWBY_Red
Good review!

BlueRangerJack and XenobladeYuki like this post

XenobladeYuki
on July 13th 2020, 11:13 amXenobladeYuki
Great review @Towafan7!

BlueRangerJack likes this post

Towafan7
on July 14th 2020, 11:02 amTowafan7
Thanks for the comments! Review: Ultracore (PS4 PSN) 631737971

BlueRangerJack likes this post

Kitty Cat Meow Meow
on July 14th 2020, 2:06 pmKitty Cat Meow Meow
Great review as expected!

BlueRangerJack likes this post

BlueRangerJack
on July 14th 2020, 3:36 pmBlueRangerJack
Massive SEGA fanboy @BurstDashV8 is "pumped" for this release, and not just because arcade style "run 'n gun" games are amongst his favourites. As for me, I dislike guns, and personal history indicates (no, blatantly declares) that I am not a runner by almost any definition. I DO enjoy SEGA games, however... Wink

Your review, @Towafan7? Molto bene! Review: Ultracore (PS4 PSN) 631737971

Towafan7, Staroceancrazy, DigiDestined, Kain, catfood, Aqua Cherry Blossom and Kitty Cat Meow Meow like this post

catfood
on July 18th 2020, 9:37 amcatfood
Good review!

BlueRangerJack likes this post

Staroceancrazy
on August 12th 2020, 3:26 pmStaroceancrazy
Awesome review @Towafan7 Exclamation

BlueRangerJack likes this post

DigiDestined
on August 18th 2020, 11:11 amDigiDestined
Nice review, looks fun. =)

BlueRangerJack and Kain like this post

Towafan7
on August 18th 2020, 9:26 pmTowafan7
As always thanks for the comments! Wink

BlueRangerJack and Kain like this post

Kain
on August 19th 2020, 11:45 amKain
Is it taboo that I actually enjoy this more than the series it was inspired by? Embarassed

Towafan7, BlueRangerJack and Aqua Cherry Blossom like this post

Aqua Cherry Blossom
on September 16th 2020, 3:54 pmAqua Cherry Blossom
Nice review lol. @Kain not at all lol. Smug

Towafan7 and BlueRangerJack like this post

BlueRangerJack
on September 16th 2020, 6:07 pmBlueRangerJack
@Kain Uh... are you asking us if you're the equivalent of the Big Bad in The Subspace Emissary? Because that... um... extracosmic entity(?) was kind of a [REDACTED].

You? You're on-par with Dragoon Highwind, and are thus amazing. Tabuu ain't got nothin' on you. Review: Ultracore (PS4 PSN) 631737971

Towafan7 and Kain like this post

Towafan7
on September 19th 2020, 5:42 pmTowafan7
@LonelyGamerJack Well said! Review: Ultracore (PS4 PSN) 631737971

BlueRangerJack and Kain like this post

Kain
on September 21st 2020, 7:13 pmKain
@LonelyGamerJack Osoreirimasu!

Towafan7 and BlueRangerJack like this post

Talesfanatic
on September 22nd 2020, 1:58 pmTalesfanatic
Awesome review!

BlueRangerJack likes this post

PhoenixSage
on September 24th 2020, 11:07 pmPhoenixSage
@Towafan7 Wonderful review. Smile

BlueRangerJack likes this post

Navi
on September 25th 2020, 1:47 pmNavi
Awesome job on this review! Kupo!

Krazyredd and BlueRangerJack like this post

BlueRangerJack
on September 25th 2020, 2:53 pmBlueRangerJack
@Kain It was just a quirky, long-winded (Or should that be high-winded?) way of saying, "Taboo or not, you do you. You're amazing. Review: Ultracore (PS4 PSN) 631737971"

I've been trying to master the art of the pep talk. I guess I still have a ways to go before even gaining my metaphorical blue belt, heheh... Who knows?

Krazyredd likes this post

Krazyredd
on September 25th 2020, 5:32 pmKrazyredd
Krazy good review!

BlueRangerJack likes this post

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum