Want to be a part of the friendliest community on the web? Join here! Already a member? Sign-in here!

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Want to be a part of the friendliest community on the web? Join here! Already a member? Sign-in here!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Latest topics
When did you buy your first Vita?February 28th 2024, 12:52 amMyNameIsZedPersona 4 Golden DiscussionFebruary 28th 2024, 12:47 amMyNameIsZedMake up a gameFebruary 26th 2024, 3:07 pmMyNameIsZedMost wanted ports/remakesFebruary 26th 2024, 2:43 pmMyNameIsZedNews: Shin Megami Tensei V ~ Vengeance Has Been Announced For The Nintendo Switch, PS4, And PS5! Releasing This Summer! February 26th 2024, 10:17 amKokorOtaku
KeAfan7
KeAfan7
Admin
Super Poster!
This member has made a splash by posting over 10,000 messages and comments in our community!
Mega Coinage!
This kind user has earned over 50,000 Coins! Happy posting!
20160112

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Discovering Strange New Voxels!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Review: Discovery (Wii U eShop) 630x27

With Minecraft: Wii U Edition already released how does Noowanda's voxel crafting cousin stack up against its older relative? Continue reading our review to find out!

First off the game emphasises on the creative aspect of the genre so don't expect any survival mode or anything. This is not all bad as the game gives you plenty of tools to be creative. The lack of Off-TV-Play and simplistic use of the Wii U Gamepad is a bigger issue in our opinion.

The size of the biomes is incredibly large compared to Minecraft, though it's supposed to be infinite, we doubt that's actually the case, but it's so huge that chances are, most people will never discover the end of their maps!

Review: Discovery (Wii U eShop) 630x28

The biome creation is somewhat simplistic and there are only three biome types, but each randomly created biome is way different than any other so if you don't like your current biome, just create a new one.

Visually speaking Discovery actually seems to be superior to Minecraft: Wii U Edition. The lighting effects and textures both seem more detailed in Discovery. The day and night system is also visually impressive.

In-terms of the audio the sound effects are fairly basic, but the soundtrack is nice, mellow, and fits the game well.

Review: Discovery (Wii U eShop) 630x29

Bottom-Line:

With solid, albeit limited gameplay, excellent visuals, and simple yet effective audio Discovery is a decent game that is as expansive and unlimited as the human imagination, however the lack of Off-TV-Play and useful implementation of Gamepad features is a real letdown, however we still feel that this game is quite good, so we give it a solid recommendation!

Price: $6.99

Score: ★★★★★★★☆☆☆ 7/10

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

#WiiU #eShop #Discovery #Noowanda #Art #Voxels

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

____________________________
Review: Discovery (Wii U eShop) Rukiafan7

Review: Discovery (Wii U eShop) 19654

Review: Discovery (Wii U eShop) 87457210

Review: Discovery (Wii U eShop) Bleach10

Bleach Thousand Year Blood War is upon us! W00t!
Share this post on:reddit

Comments

KeAfan7
January 13th 2016, 12:57 pmKeAfan7
Our review is now live. Wink
Bit-Trip
January 15th 2016, 12:50 pmBit-Trip
That tagline is rather funny. This game sounds good for artists, but the lack of survival mode is a dealbreaker for me. Sad
Marioman18
January 20th 2016, 2:37 pmMarioman18
Amazing review @Ichigofan! victory
Rena Ryuugu Fanboy
January 20th 2016, 11:01 pmRena Ryuugu Fanboy
Good review dude.
Neptune
January 22nd 2016, 2:10 pmNeptune
Nice review. Smile
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Our Users Have Posted 119.25K Messages And Comments
We Have 7.81K Registered Users
This Month's Active Users (1.25K)
This Month's Unique Visitors (105.5K)