Want to be a part of the friendliest community on the web? Join here! Already a member? Sign-in here!

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Want to be a part of the friendliest community on the web? Join here! Already a member? Sign-in here!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
KeAfan7
KeAfan7
Admin
Super Poster!
This member has made a splash by posting over 10,000 messages and comments in our community!
Mega Coinage!
This kind user has earned over 50,000 Coins! Happy posting!
20230305

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Clever & Wholesome Fun!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Review: Clive & Wrench (PS4 Retail) 20230210

Developed by Dinosaur Bytes Games and published by Numskull Games Clive & Wrench is a 3D platformer crafted by a one-man team 10 years in the making, but was the wait worth it? We think so, but you'll need to continue reading the remainder of our review to find out why!

Review: Clive & Wrench (PS4 Retail) 20230211

The gameplay in Clive & Wrench is quite solid, if not a bit floaty in-terms of its physics which actually helped us on many occasions so it's not something we saw in a particularly bad light. The characters have some great moves that will feel familiar to those who grew up in the 90's and played 3D platformers of that era such as Super Mario 64, Banjo Kazooie, and Donkey Kong 64. The game's level design is great with exceptionally creative layouts and world themes as well as some puzzles thrown in to spice things up and the enemy variety and unique bosses were amazing, and all required some strategy to defeat which was a fun challenge for sure.

The game was decent in length with well over a dozen worlds and clocking in at around 20 hours to beat and 35 hours to complete, it has more than enough content to warrant its $29.99 price. Meanwhile the controls were pretty good, certainly not perfect, but definitely serviceable. The only issues we had were a lot of technical ones in the form of bugs. None impeded our progress, but did hamper our enjoyment a bit, dropping a point or two off our score for the game. Things like falling through a specific platform or hitting a specific enemy and getting hurt yourself. These issues don't happen everytime and aren't too common, but all seem to be related to issues with the game's collision detection.

The overall enjoyment we had far outshone the issues we experienced on the gameplay front.

Review: Clive & Wrench (PS4 Retail) 20230212

The visual-presentation in the game is exceptional with gorgeous worlds brought to life with an absolutely insane amount of detail, AAA quality special effects, and varied enemy, boss, and character designs that all stand out as unique and charming! As for the audio side of things? The soundtrack is really catchy and fits the game's mood like a glove, and the sound effects are well-done and don't get grating at any point. Overall the audiovisual-presentation was exceptional!

Review: Clive & Wrench (PS4 Retail) 20230213

Bottom-Line: With great gameplay that is somewhat hindered by some minor technical issues, a decent amount of content, an exceptional audiovisual-presentation, and serviceable controls, Clive & Wrench is a good game that has a lot going in its favor, but some technical issues hold it back just enough to deny the game a 9/10 or 10/10, but regardless the game as still fun and well worth its price and as such we give Clive & Wrench for the PS4 and Switch a good level of recommendation!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Score: ★★★★★★★★☆☆ 8/10

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

#Review #NumskullGames #DinosaurBytesGames #3DPlatformer #Switch #PS4 #Retail #eShop #PSN

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Last edited by KeAfan7 on March 6th 2023, 11:00 pm; edited 2 times in total

____________________________
Review: Clive & Wrench (PS4 Retail) Rukiafan7

Review: Clive & Wrench (PS4 Retail) 19654

Review: Clive & Wrench (PS4 Retail) 87457210

Review: Clive & Wrench (PS4 Retail) Bleach10

Bleach Thousand Year Blood War is upon us! W00t!

Amufungal, DigiDestined, Bashful1996, Zatchbell, XenobladeYuki and Kain like this post

Share this post on:reddit

Comments

KeAfan7
March 6th 2023, 6:44 pmKeAfan7
@DeviantArtistOrion @KokorOtaku @SunDownSamurai @visicalc Our review is now live! Enjoy. Wink

Amufungal, DigiDestined, Bashful1996, Zatchbell, XenobladeYuki, Kain and SunDownSamurai like this post

Amufungal
March 7th 2023, 10:42 amAmufungal
I have the Switch port and it has issues. I still enjoyed the game, but would say it's closer to a 7/10 on Switch. @KeAfan7 Nice review as always. Smile

DigiDestined, Bashful1996, Zatchbell, XenobladeYuki, Kain and SunDownSamurai like this post

Kain
March 7th 2023, 10:48 amKain
@KeAfan7 Great review!

DigiDestined, Bashful1996, Zatchbell, XenobladeYuki and SunDownSamurai like this post

XenobladeYuki
March 7th 2023, 11:05 amXenobladeYuki
It's hard to imagine a lone developer making such an ambitious game, but here we are. A shame there are some issues, but the game itself is fantastic! Excellent review @KeAfan7 ! Dance

DigiDestined, Bashful1996, Zatchbell and SunDownSamurai like this post

Zatchbell
March 10th 2023, 3:53 pmZatchbell
Great review!

DigiDestined and Bashful1996 like this post

DigiDestined
April 19th 2023, 12:43 pmDigiDestined
Nice review @KeAfan7! Very Happy

Bashful1996 likes this post

Bashful1996
April 24th 2023, 1:56 pmBashful1996
Nice review as always.
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Our Users Have Posted 119.25K Messages And Comments
We Have 7.81K Registered Users
This Month's Active Users (1.25K)
This Month's Unique Visitors (105.5K)