Share
20140515
Purrfect!

Review: Scram Kitty And His Buddy On Rails (Wii U eshop) Wiiu_s75

Scram Kitty And His Buddy On Rails is an on-the-rails shooter/plotformer developed by Dakko Dakko Games and has been one of the most anticipated eshop titles for the Wii U! Does the game live up to its hype? Keep reading to find out!

Gameplay And Controls:

The gameplay in Scram Kitty is refreshingly unique in-terms of both its design and features! There are a few different modes of play including adventure where you must collect cats by doing various things in each stage including defeating bosses and collecting every item in the stage which is easier said then done as the levels are for the most part fiendishly difficult and traps will stop you in your tracks. These traps are usually fair though there are a few exceptions that will force you to restart a stage.

Review: Scram Kitty And His Buddy On Rails (Wii U eshop) Wiiu_s76

The level designs are brilliant and will keep you coming back to collect the cats that you missed to unlock more challenging levels! The final level of the game will challenge you more than any other game currently available on the eshop so be prepared to work towards beating the game! This isn't a bad thing though as it'll bring a sense of satisfaction to players when they finally see the game's ending!

The controls are nearly flawless once you get used to them, but it'll take a few hours to figure out the game's physics. Overall there is nothing negative to mention about the controls of the game! The Off-TV Play works well with this game due to its gameplay having a handheld feel to it!

Review: Scram Kitty And His Buddy On Rails (Wii U eshop) Wiiu_s77

Graphics And Sounds:

There's no denying that Scram Kitty And His Buddy On Rails is a gorgeous game between its 2.5-D HD pixel art direction and highly detailed 3-D character and enemy models that really pop in HD Scram Kitty puts even certain retail throwback titles to shame!

Scram Kitty And His Buddy On Rails also has a catchy soundtrack and the sound effects such as the weapons firing and the enemies death cry are crisp yet feel like they belong in a retro title in the 90's which fits the game well and sounds amazing!

Review: Scram Kitty And His Buddy On Rails (Wii U eshop) Wiiu_s79

Bottom-Line:

With perfect gameplay that will give you hours of enjoyment, nearly perfect controls, gorgeous visuals, and a catchy soundtrack Scram Kitty And His Buddy On Rails is easily one of the most polished Wii U eshop titles to date rivalling WiiWare equivalents such as La-Mulana and Cave Story! The only minor issue that the game has is that it takes a while to get used to the game's physics, but otherwise the game is flawless! There's just no reason not to add this amazing title to your Wii U digital games collection!

Score: 10/10

____________________________
Review: Scram Kitty And His Buddy On Rails (Wii U eshop) Rukiafan7
Share this post on:diggdeliciousredditstumbleuponslashdotyahoogooglelive

Comments

Grumblevolcano
on May 16th 2014, 4:22 pmGrumblevolcano
Message reputation : 100% (2 votes)
I think the score is too high, but the game is still superb. I would have given the game a 8/10 nice review though I'm glad you enjoyed the game @Rukiafan!
Tsukoko
on May 16th 2014, 5:00 pmTsukoko
Message reputation : 100% (2 votes)
This is a great review! I'll get this after I finish Grinsia.
Aqua Cherry Blossom
on May 16th 2014, 8:45 pmAqua Cherry Blossom
Message reputation : 100% (2 votes)
This game sounds amazing and I plan on downloading this game next month! Smile
Towafan7
on May 17th 2014, 2:31 amTowafan7
Message reputation : 100% (1 vote)
@SigourneyBeaver Thanks for the constructive criticism! @Nepgear you won't regret downloading this wonderful title. Wink
Kangaroozoo
on May 17th 2014, 2:34 amKangaroozoo
Message reputation : 100% (1 vote)
This is a wonderfully written review mate! Smile
DigiDestined
on May 17th 2014, 11:25 amDigiDestined
Message reputation : 100% (1 vote)
Scram Kitty And His Buddy On Rails is one of the best games that I have played all year! =)
This game has earned the perfect score it has been given in the review. Smile
ToughGamer
on May 17th 2014, 11:49 amToughGamer
Message reputation : 100% (1 vote)
I wasn't expecting a perfect score. I might need to download this then.
Ragnarok
Now I have to download Scram Kitty!
FuManchu
on May 17th 2014, 2:00 pmFuManchu
Message reputation : 100% (1 vote)
I need to hone my skills more because I can't beat this game no matter how hard I try.
SuperVash
on May 17th 2014, 4:11 pmSuperVash
Message reputation : 100% (1 vote)
This world could use more games as unique as this one. I completely agree with the review this game is perfect!
ShanaNoShakugan
Staroceancrazy
This game is awesome! I like your tagline Exclamation
Talesfanatic
on May 17th 2014, 4:35 pmTalesfanatic
Message reputation : 100% (2 votes)
Kitties rock and so does your review! Smile
Mouser
on May 17th 2014, 4:57 pmMouser
Message reputation : 100% (2 votes)
@Talesfanatic wrote:Kitties rock and so does your review! Smile
I prefer mice myself, but whatever! This is a true masterpiece!
Gekkouga-Senpai
on May 17th 2014, 6:12 pmGekkouga-Senpai
Message reputation : 100% (2 votes)
@Mouser wrote:
@Talesfanatic wrote:Kitties rock and so does your review! Smile
I prefer mice myself, but whatever! This is a true masterpiece!
Your comments are awesome lol! This review is great too! Very Happy
RWBY Yellow = Yang
Tech101
on May 18th 2014, 5:27 amTech101
Message reputation : 100% (2 votes)
Well maybe I do need to look into this more!
RWBY Yellow = Yang
on May 18th 2014, 1:22 pmRWBY Yellow = Yang
Message reputation : 100% (1 vote)
@Tech101 wrote:Well maybe I do need to look into this more!
I downloaded the game yesterday and it's as good as the reviewer of this article stated!
The only thing that makes me feel that the game isn't quite deserving of the perfect score it got is that some levels are so frustrating but that might just be because I am not good at on the rails shooters lol!
Aqua Cherry Blossom
I'm amazed that this game has received some low scores on other websites. Rolling Eyes
Towafan7
Thanks for the feedback you guys! It means alot to me. Wink
Kain
This game is seriously awesome a definite must have game for the Wii U!
captainamerica
Hopefully more games with the level of quality that this game provides will be released on the Wii U eshop to make up for the lack of retail third party titles.
Towafan7
@Kain wrote:This game is seriously awesome a definite must have game for the Wii U!
Absolutely. Wink

@captainamerica wrote:Hopefully more games with the level of quality that this game provides will be released on the Wii U eshop to make up for the lack of retail third party titles.
I hope so too!
RWBY_Red
Nice review. This game is really fun, but I don't know if I'd consider it perfect though.
Yusei Fudo
This game seems to be a cut above the rest of the indie titles currently on the Wii U eshop so I will download this as soon as I have enough credit on my eshop account.
SKTTR
on May 22nd 2014, 6:03 amSKTTR
Message reputation : 100% (2 votes)
Very good game and spot on review!

The mechanics, controls, physics, and level designs are truly brilliant. Some of the challenges are hard but too satisfying. I couldn't stop playing until I got all 104 cats. (Took me 13h26min) so that's good value for the tenner it costs.

Towafan7
@SKTTR wrote:Very good game and spot on review!

The mechanics, controls, physics, and level designs are truly brilliant. Some of the challenges are hard but too satisfying. I couldn't stop playing until I got all 104 cats. (Took me 13h26min) so that's good value for the tenner it costs.

Thank you for the feedback @SKTTR! Wink
RoboYoshi
Why is this game so hard?
It is still awesome tho Very Happy
Marioman18
Chickgoboom
on May 23rd 2014, 1:51 pmChickgoboom
Message reputation : 100% (1 vote)
This game is too difficult, I'd give it a 7/10, but I understand why the game got a perfect score. If only I was better at playing games. Sad
Oh and awesome review! Very Happy
Anonymous
Beautiful review Rukiafan! I love you
Towafan7
on June 3rd 2014, 10:55 amTowafan7
Message reputation : 100% (1 vote)
@Chickgoboom wrote:This game is too difficult, I'd give it a 7/10, but I understand why the game got a perfect score. If only I was better at playing games. Sad
Oh and awesome review! Very Happy

I respect your opinion and completely understand why you might feel that the game is too difficult. Wink

Kushina wrote:Beautiful review Rukiafan! I love you

Thank you very much Kushina! Wink
ToughGamer
@Chickgoboom wrote:This game is too difficult, I'd give it a 7/10, but I understand why the game got a perfect score. If only I was better at playing games. Sad
Oh and awesome review! Very Happy

I relish a good challenge.
Aussiegamer
Brilliant review mate! :-D
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum