Share
avatar
Admin
View user profile
20110523

Urbanix review

Message reputation : 100% (1 vote)
Urbanix is a game that plays alot like the classic pc game Qix!


Gameplay

The gameplay is simple,you must develop the land by creating roads that connect to each other in a grid like pattern while avoiding enemies! sound easy?
well it's not as you only have a limited time to complete each level!

Explore 3 different terrains Earth,The North Pole,and The Moon.
Each terrain has different rules and problems to deal with,but this reviewer only found the moon to be a real challenge

I've got one important tip to give to new players,stop those darn Home Wreckers as they will destroy homes and force you to have to redevelop the area,luckily Home Wreckers are not too dangerous as they will flee if you approach them,but they will be quite a handful on later levels.......



Graphics and Sound

The graphics are fairly simple in this game as the game has a rustic windows 98ish 3d look with colorful backgrounds and clunky 3d character and object models,but given the gameplay it is a perfect fit!


The sound effects in Urbanix are quite hectic and in some cases annoying,and the music is cute,but gets pretty annoying as well.


Bottom line-With good gameplay based on a 20+ year old classic pc game,cute graphics,and music that is cute albeit a tad annoying,this is a title that can be quite entertaining,but certainly could be better,however at 500 Nintendo points fans of arcade games,and classic cpu games should at least consider purchasing Urbanix.


Score ☆☆☆☆☆☆ 6.8/10

6- Decent This game has flaws or major flaws such as, poor controls, bad gameplay elements, poorly implemented gimmicks, minor sound or graphics issues etc. But can be fun, but not necessarily as fun as you'd hope.
Attachments
Urbanix.bmp You don't have permission to download attachments.(37 Kb) Downloaded 1 times
Urbanix2.bmp You don't have permission to download attachments.(27 Kb) Downloaded 1 times


Last edited by Rukiafan on June 25th 2011, 10:45 pm; edited 1 time in total
Share this post on:diggdeliciousredditstumbleuponslashdotyahoogooglelive

Comments

avatar
on May 29th 2011, 4:27 pmAussiegamer
I thought this game would get a lower score Neutral

Anyway good review rukiafan!
avatar
on October 4th 2011, 3:37 pmNINTENBRO
I guess it was just removed from the WiiShop. I'm going to have to hurry up and purchase Burn the Rope and Mr. Driller W, before they come up missing too.
avatar
on October 4th 2011, 9:15 pmMs_Kinomoto
It looks like it is back on the Wii shop Smile
avatar
on October 11th 2011, 7:40 pmParagoomba
This game is okay but escapeVektor is a much better Qix re-imagining king
avatar
on October 11th 2011, 8:00 pmNINTENBRO
Yeah, I'm enjoying escape VeKtor too. Even though I've been stuck on level 7 since it's release. I'll get the nick of it sooner or later. I just haven't been practicing enough, since I've been putting most of my playtime into Moto Heroz. Although, I'm starting to become a little burnt out on Moto Heroz, so I might get back to it soon. Well, if I don't get into Blaster Master Overdrive first, I really like that game and I just downloaded it last week.

Last edited by WiiAboutU on October 12th 2011, 4:30 am; edited 1 time in total
avatar
on October 12th 2011, 4:28 amSKTTR
Message reputation : 100% (1 vote)
@Paragoomba wrote:This game is okay but escapeVektor is a much better Qix re-imagining king

I wouldn't say that escapeVEKTOR is a re-imagining of the Qix games. It might confuse and disappoint people who want a Qix-like game.
Urbanix and Critter Round-Up are Qix-like games.
I'm not sure but I think Arcade Essentials has a Qix-clone included as well (will check that later).

escapeVEKTOR is a gridrunner / top-down labyrinth game, similar to the likes of Pac-Man (walk every path) and arguably WiiWare game Bit-Boy!! (avoid enemies and collect stuff to make the exit appear).

The Qix genre is a very specific genre where you have to fill up a screen by drawing lines - and you decide where to draw them. escapeVEKTOR doesn't offer the "freedom of drawing lines the way you want" and that's the main definition of a Qix-like game.
avatar
on October 12th 2011, 12:54 pmIchigo Kurosaki
Is this worth 500 points for Qix fans?
avatar
on November 8th 2011, 10:36 pmMouser
How hard is Urbanix?
avatar
on November 9th 2011, 5:20 amNINTENBRO
@Ichigo Kurosaki wrote:Is this worth 500 points for Qix fans?
I've haven't experienced Urbanix yet, but I know escapeVektor is well worth 500 points.
Sponsored content
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum