Share
View previous topicView next topic
avatar
Admin
View user profile
20120717
The Blue Bomber Spin-off Returns!


(Virtual Console)

(C) 1994, Capcom

Developer: Capcom
Publisher: Capcom

NA Release: June 14, 2012 (Virtual Console), January 1995 (SNES)
EU Release: May 31, 2012 (Virtual Console), October 1995 (SNES)
JP Release: December 27, 2011 (Virtual Console), December 16, 1994 (SNES)

# of Players: 1 player
Price: 800 Nintendo Points
Genre: Platformer

Megaman X took the Megaman formula and improved upon it in every conceivable way, but does Megaman X2 continue to provide the excellent gameplay introduced in the first Meganan X game? Let's find out!



Story and Gameplay:

A few months after the events of the first game the Maverick problem hasn't gotten better, so it's up to Maverick Hunter X to defeat the Maverick's and save the world! The story in Megaman X2 takes a back seat in favor of platforming and the result is kind of a mixed bag. The story is certainly weaker, but the gameplay is improved with new vehicles to ride, more collectables, and even three hidden bosses to beat that affect the ending if you defeat all of them!

The Maverick bosses are even tougher to beat this time around, but this does add some stategy to the games that should please diehard retro game fans!
The platforming is much more difficult this time with some segments being a bit too hard, but the enemies have been reduced in number from the first game giving the game less action in favor of platforming.



Graphics and Sound:

I was surprised when I first started playing this game, but the graphics in Megaman are no better than those in the first title. In fact the details in the level backgrounds aren't as good looking as they were in the original Megaman X game and the level designs have a more basic feel to them, but overall the graphics are still above average.

The soundtrack in Megaman X2 is good, but fails to live up to the standards set in the first game, however Capcom did lose four of the five music composers that worked on the first Megaman X when this game was under development.
The sound effects are varied and add to the game.



Bottom Line:

With less story and action than Megaman X the game might not please all fans, but the platforming, difficult bosses that require strategy to defeat, as well as the secret bosses the game certainly is fun and has some depth. Ultimately Megaman X2 is a great game, but fails to live up to the original Megaman X title.

Price: 800 Nintendo Points.

Score: ☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆ 8.1/10

____________________________


My Pokemon Alpha Sapphire Adventure!



Share this post on:Excite BookmarksDiggRedditDel.icio.usGoogleLiveSlashdotNetscapeTechnoratiStumbleUponNewsvineFurlYahooSmarking

Comments

avatar
on July 17th 2012, 2:13 pmKokorOtaku
RockMan Rocks Very Happy
avatar
Good review Rukiafan.
avatar
I prefer this game over the first.
avatar
on July 17th 2012, 3:28 pmClαππαd
I thought X2 was better as well.
avatar
on July 17th 2012, 6:10 pmJnes5
Two reviews in a row ?! Surprised you're on a roll Rukiafan !

I do agree that I prefer the first game over this one, since I thought that this game was not as enjoyable as the first one for some reason...

By the way, I've replaced the last image because the original image was from Megaman ZX Advent and not Megaman X2 !
avatar
on July 17th 2012, 6:45 pmReanfan
Thank you Jnes5. Wink
avatar
on July 17th 2012, 9:48 pmSuperVash
Two reviews in less than 24 hours nice!
avatar
on July 18th 2012, 7:41 pmPRMF_Red18x
Great review man Very Happy
avatar
on July 19th 2012, 12:20 pmMegatron2000
The Megaman X series is one of the best video game spinoff series I have played in my 35 years of playing games! |D
View previous topicView next topic
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum