Advertisement
Latest Topics
Topic
History
Written by
Comment on the sig of the person above you
Comment On The Avatar of The Person Above You
Crystals of Silveria Series Hub & Junihoshi Guidebook - By GamerZack7
eshop: Citizens of Earth Will Now Launch In November For $14.99!
Review: Monkey Pirates (Wii U eshop) NA
Wii U: Firmware Update 5.1.2 U Is Now Available
Interview: A Discussion With Jools Watsham From Renegade Kid
eshop: A World of Keflings Has Been Sent To Nintendo For Approval And Should Release Soon!
The video games alphabet
Wii Shop to close at the end of the year?
Yesterday at 11:47 pm
Yesterday at 11:46 pm
Yesterday at 3:25 pm
Yesterday at 12:21 pm
Yesterday at 12:19 pm
Yesterday at 12:17 pm
Yesterday at 12:16 pm
Yesterday at 12:15 pm
Yesterday at 12:13 pm
Yesterday at 12:12 pm
GamerZack87
GamerZack87
GamerZack87
Epona
Epona
Epona
Epona
Epona
Xiao Pai
Xiao Pai

Xenoblade Chronicles Review559

You are not connected. Please login or register

Reply to topic

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

A Fight For The Future!


Xenoblade Chronicles
(Nintendo Wii)

(C) 2010, Nintendo

Developer: Monolith Soft
Publisher: Nintendo

US release: April 6, 2012
JP release: June 10, 2010
EU release: August 19, 2011
AU release: September 1, 2011

Players: 1
Genre: RPG




Story

The story of Xenoblade takes place on two warring worlds named Bionis and Mechonis and depicts a clash between Homs "Humans" and Mechon "Machines" there are many twists and turns along the way and the story starts you in the middle of a battlefield with a good deal of cutscenes and action to keep you entertained, however after the prologue the story slows down for awhile before picking back up, but make no mistake the you'll likely never find the story to be boring.

The story revolves around a young scientist Shulk and his friends Reyn, Dunban, and Fiora and a sword known as the Monado which has the power to destroy mechon. You'll soon realize that the Monado will play a huge role in Xenoblade's story. There are so many plot twists and surprises during the story that it never feels stale!



Gameplay

The gameplay in Xenoblade Chronicles feels like a mixture between traditional JRPG gameplay and MMORPG gameplay with many "quests" and the unique appearance of most weapons and armors your characters can equip!

The battle system in Xenoblade Chronicles feels like a simplified Final Fantasy XII battle system as your characters auto attack and you simply control the character movement and which art to use and when, but there are quite a few strategies to use as some arts are always critical from a certain position such as attacking a monster from behind or toppling or dazing an opponent.

A monster's level is very important "even more than stats" so be careful when dealing with monsters who are stronger than your party. If a monster is more than 4 levels above yours "denoted by a red tag where enemy info is shown" you'll most likely die.

The quests in this game are similar to those in popular MMORPG's and are mainly fetch, collect, or defeat specific monster quests, however there are some that involve defeating special bosses or exploring areas that are locked until you start certain quests. The amount of quests is staggering 480 or so to be precise and can take over 100 hours to complete all of them!

There are also unique monsters that appear during certain times of the day or during specific weather that are far stronger than the normal monsters in a given area, but always drop a golden treasure chest and give you an affinity coin when defeated so killing these monsters can be worth the effort!

The skill tree is another unique feature that allows your party to gain stat boosts and other beneficial effects during battle by using affinity coins to link party skills, which will be very important later in the game.



Graphics and Sound

The graphics in Xenoblade Chronicles are very impressive as small details such as wind blowing grass and trees around and beautiful lighting effects that change as the time of the day changes, but what is so amazing is how massive the games world is and the level of detail Monolithsoft put into each and every area!

The character models are fairly decent though they look like they belong in a good looking PS2 game, they're still detailed and certainly don't affect my opinion about this game's graphics.

The soundtrack in Xenoblade Chronicles is perfect in every way and adds so much to the game. I was hard pressed to find any music tracks that I didn't like in Xenoblade Chronicles, but my favorite would be the awesome boss theme!

The sound effects in the game are a nice touch as you can hear wind, thunder, waterfalls as well as other natural sounds while traveling around the fields and towns.

Bottom Line

With an amazing story, fantastic gameplay, and nearly perfect visuals and soundtrack Xenoblade Chronicles pushes the Wii hardware to its limit and is one game hardcore Wii owners shouldn't pass up!

Score

★★★★★★★★★★ 10/10

10- Perfect This game is nearly perfect, and has little if any flaws, and is a blast to play!

This review can also be read here



Last edited by Rukiafan on June 22nd 2014, 12:29 pm; edited 2 times in total


-


My current Xenoblade Stats!

Levels: 99*
Skills: Level 10*
Collectopedia: 99%
Colony 6: Level 6*
Quests: 443/489
# of Surprise quests: 6*
Secret Monado Skills: 2/2*
Level 100+ Bosses Defeated: 3
View user profile http://wiiwarewave.webs.com
Share this post on: Excite BookmarksDiggRedditDel.icio.usGoogleLiveSlashdotNetscapeTechnoratiStumbleUponNewsvineFurlYahooSmarking

Post on June 18th 2012, 12:33 pm by Rukiafan

Can somebody please reformat this review to our new review format?

Post on June 18th 2012, 12:37 pm by MiracleB

Completely agree. Xenoblade is my favourite game ever by absolutely miles, everything about it was absolutely epic! Very Happy

Post on June 18th 2012, 12:57 pm by Rukiafan

It's one of my favorite RPG's this generation. Wink

Post on June 18th 2012, 12:57 pm by Jnes5

Your review was great, nice job ! I do certainly want to play this game as well, but seeing how it got a very limited release in the US... yeah... Crying or Very sad

Post on June 18th 2012, 1:01 pm by Rukiafan

You can still find used copies for $39.99 easily at Gamestop and I've even seen a few new copies of Xenoblade at my local Walmart so you might still have a chance Jnes5. Wink

Post on June 18th 2012, 1:07 pm by Jnes5

Brian wrote:You can still find used copies for $39.99 easily at Gamestop and I've even seen a few new copies of Xenoblade at my local Walmart so you might still have a chance Jnes5. Wink

I guess so, I will try to find it here in my country then, seeing as you've said that it's not a limited release anymore.

In fact, I've read that the Blockbuster shops in my country actually have them ! so I'll see if I have the money for it ! but so far, it's unlikely...

And also, I was supposed to review this as well ! but because of this situation of mine... yeah, I'm very sorry for that dissapointment... Sad

Post on June 18th 2012, 1:09 pm by Rukiafan

No problem, unfortunately it looks like I may face the same situation with The Last Story myself. Neutral

Post on June 18th 2012, 1:11 pm by Staroceancrazy

Awesome review Brian! Very Happy

Post on June 18th 2012, 1:20 pm by SunDown

I'd say it should've been awarded a 9/10 at the most. It's a very good game, but I don't believe it's deserving of a perfect score.

Post on June 18th 2012, 1:22 pm by Staroceancrazy

@WiiAboutU have you finished the game yet? Xenoblade is much better once you fall down to the fallen arm Very Happy

Post on June 18th 2012, 1:39 pm by Epona

Um....good review again Brian Smile

Post on June 18th 2012, 2:04 pm by Aussiegamer

Wonderful review mate :-D

Post on June 18th 2012, 3:38 pm by KingreX32

Great Review dude.

Post on June 18th 2012, 5:44 pm by Xiao Pai

This is one of your best reviews yet Brian. Smile

Post on June 18th 2012, 6:06 pm by Rukiafan

Eureka wrote:This is one of your best reviews yet Brian. Smile
Why thank you! Wink

Post on June 19th 2012, 12:00 am by Megatron2000

I agree this is a great game, but it doesn't compare to legends such as Final Fantasy VII or Chrono Trigger anyways good review Brian |D

Post on June 19th 2012, 12:00 pm by SigourneyBeaver

Xenoblade Chronicles is a truly epic adventure that deserves this perfect score! Very Happy

Post on June 21st 2012, 3:40 pm by Amufungal

Nice review once again Smile

Post on June 21st 2012, 6:46 pm by Objection Blaster

@Brian this is one of your better reviews nice! Cool

Post on June 22nd 2012, 3:49 pm by Kushina

Xenoblade is so fun that I just can't stop playing. Smile

Post on June 22nd 2012, 5:30 pm by Punnyguy

This is one review no WiiWareWave member should miss. Wink

Post on June 22nd 2012, 9:43 pm by Xiao Pai

Punnyguy wrote:This is one review no WiiWareWave member should miss. Wink
So true.

Post on June 22nd 2012, 11:28 pm by Tinglemaster

Impressive review Rukiafan!

Post on June 23rd 2012, 3:25 pm by PhoenixSage

It's amazing that this epic role playing game is only a B budget game. Very Happy

Post on June 23rd 2012, 8:40 pm by Objection Blaster

This game is fun to play even during a new game+ run! Cool

Post on June 24th 2012, 2:51 pm by Trinity33

This deserves a 9/10, but not a perfect score even so your review is very good. =)

Post on June 24th 2012, 8:57 pm by Akatsuki

I disagree the perfect score is well deserved! ♪
Nice review Rukiafan!

Post on June 24th 2012, 11:38 pm by Andy

Nice one.

Post on June 28th 2012, 11:13 am by FM_Alchemist

If this game had a better pacing of the story instead of fluctuating between exciting and boring throughout the game this would've been perfect, but this game is still an 8/10 in my opinion.
Excellent review Rukiafan.

Post on June 30th 2012, 11:24 pm by ToughGamer

Damn I should have pre ordered this game, because I can't find a copy of Xenoblade anywhere.

Post on June 30th 2012, 11:59 pm by ReverseInverse

Sweet review!

Post on July 11th 2012, 10:14 pm by Clαππαd

The score is a bit high, but your review is detailed and amazing!

Post on October 9th 2012, 7:24 pm by ZezHylia

This review is so detailed Surprised you really outdid yourself with this review @Rukiafan! Very Happy

Post on October 9th 2012, 7:49 pm by SunDown

OK, Rukiafan! You can put that image of Shulk and the Monado into my signature now. Very Happy

Post on October 9th 2012, 9:24 pm by Rukiafan

Do you like your new avatar and signature? Wink

Post on October 15th 2013, 1:23 pm by ShanaNoShakugan

This game deserve perfect score very fun game and review is good. Smile

Post on November 29th 2013, 3:41 pm by Tsukoko

Nintenbro wrote:I'd say it should've been awarded a 9/10 at the most. It's a very good game, but I don't believe it's deserving of a perfect score.
Why not, the game is amazing in every aspect....?

Post on November 30th 2013, 12:46 pm by SunDown

^ I don't know. The battle system is original and interesting, but the AI is as dumb as bricks. The only time your party cooperates in unison is while you're controlling them during a chain attack. Otherwise, there's a one in a hundred chance that your party will actually follow your lead in battle.

Post on November 30th 2013, 1:19 pm by Mario fan of the 80s

Xenoblade is an amazing rpg! victory

Post on August 10th 2014, 1:14 pm by MechaFreiza

Booyaa! Awesome review! This was one of the best Japanese RPG's that I have played in the past few years! Super Saiyen

Post on August 11th 2014, 11:02 am by Rukiafan

Wow! I'm flattered that this review is still receiving new comments! king

Post on August 11th 2014, 2:47 pm by Clαππαd

Rukiafan wrote:Wow! I'm flattered that this review is still receiving new comments! king
It isn't surprising since the review is amazing and the game is one of the most highly praised Wii titles ever released. Smile

Post on August 11th 2014, 2:59 pm by Ragnarok

Awesome review! Xenoblade Chronicles is the best RPG that I've ever played!

Post on August 11th 2014, 5:27 pm by Objection Blaster

Rukiafan wrote:Wow! I'm flattered that this review is still receiving new comments! king
You deserve praise for such a well written review.

View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Reply to topic

Permissions in this forum:
You can reply to topics in this forum