Advertisement
Latest Topics
Topic
History
Written by
Comment on the sig of the person above you
Comment On The Avatar of The Person Above You
My Upcoming Reviews.
Mario Kart 8 Discussion
Review: Guacamelee Super Turbo Championship Editon (Wii U eshop)
Anyone here buy F-Zero X?
Final Fantasy III help needed!
Where can I find a list of all games removed from vc?
The video games alphabet
Review: My Arctic Farm (Wii U eshop)
Yesterday at 11:58 pm
Yesterday at 8:01 pm
Yesterday at 7:45 pm
July 9th 2014, 2:51 pm
July 9th 2014, 1:41 pm
July 9th 2014, 1:37 pm
July 9th 2014, 1:35 pm
July 9th 2014, 1:32 pm
July 9th 2014, 1:14 pm
July 9th 2014, 1:12 pm
GamerZack7
GamerZack7
Rukiafan
GamerZack7
Rukiafan
Rukiafan
Rukiafan
Rukiafan
Kushina
Kushina

2 FAST 4 GNOMZ (WiiWare) Review 5 5 1

You are not connected. Please login or register

Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next

Reply to topic

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 3]

SKTTR


Admin
Admin


2 FAST 4 GNOMZ (WiiWare)

(C) 2012 QubicGames

Developer: QubicGames
Publisher: QubicGames
Website: www.qubicgames.com
Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LdvyEUulNwg

EU Release: 2012-04-26
NA Release: 2012-02-23

Players: 1
Wii Points: 500
Genre: Runner / Autoscrolling Platformer

Review written by SKTTR for WiiWareWave 2012-05-05.



R U 2 FAST 4 GNOMZ?


Polish developer QubicGames worked on two GNÖMZ games for WiiWare at the same time: The multiplayer arena platformer GNÖMZ that was released in December 2011, and the single player runner game 2 FAST 4 GNOMZ which was released in April 2012 and is a completely different experience compared to the first game.

As with every game in the runner genre 2 FAST 4 GNOMZ is an autoscrolling jump & run. You automatically run from left to right through grassy areas, rocky mountains, icy caves, and a magical forest, and you just have to jump with the 2-button at the right time (holding the Wiimote sideways) to overcome obstacles like pits and spikes. In the first few stages you only need to jump and open your parachute by pressing 'UP' to float over gaps that are too wide for a normal jump. You can also use the wind to levitate to greater heights. Later on you learn new moves: Press 'DOWN' to change into the strong red Gnom that pounds the ground and crashes through trees and press 'FORWARD' to change into the super speedy blue Gnom. That's when the game gets serious and shows its full potential. There's another move to discover that is messing things up quite nicely.



The level design is very clever and incredibly challenging with lots of different traps to avoid and socks to collect. There's a fair amount of checkpoints and if you die you just respawn instantly at the last one you crossed. You have unlimited lives as well. And you get a death counter just for fun: as long as you try a stage it counts your deaths and it resets back to zero if you choose to go back to the map or when you manually restart the level. On the map you can select all the levels you have unlocked. The game saves your progress each time you set a new time record, a new sock record and each time you unlock a new level. There are 3 separate profiles to choose from and they show your completion percentage.

The game comes in a nice hand-drawn 2D comic look, although the presentation is a bit on the lacking side. The graphics are good for the most part and the speed is just crazy but occasionally there's the odd graphic glitch. The title screen with its blurry text comes across cheap, and there's not much music apart from a few gnömzy tracks. On the other hand it tries to balance out these minor presentation flaws with a silly little story: a few funny cutscenes as you make your way through the game, with a few cameo appearances of characters from the first GNÖMZ game. The story is quite a Super Mario Bros. rip-off as it takes full force on the "Your princess is in another castle"-cliché.

The EU version has only English screentext but everything is pretty self-explanatory.



For just 500 Wii Points this is a well-made little runner, with spot-on controls and pretty good content (40 stages + 40 bonus stages, collectables, and best times). Recommended for fans of extremely fast platformers and runners, fans of simple games with some depth and lots of challenge.

I have completed this game 100.0% - the percentage on my profile says so - but it shouldn't. There's one stage where I couldn't get all socks. It's bonus stage 30 - "Titanic". I can only get 24/26 socks in this stage. Two socks are INSIDE spikes! Is it a bug or a clever trick? And should I complain? At least the game is generous giving me 100% despite missing 2 out of a thousand socks.

If you want first-hand impressions there is a free 2 FAST 4 GNOMZ Demo available in the Wii Shop.

SKTTRSKORE: 8/10


8- Great This is a great game that might have a few flaws or could have been better, but is still a game we highly recommend!



Last edited by SKTTR on May 17th 2012, 6:38 pm; edited 15 times in total

View user profile http://www.backloggery.com/skttr
Share this post on: Excite BookmarksDiggRedditDel.icio.usGoogleLiveSlashdotNetscapeTechnoratiStumbleUponNewsvineFurlYahooSmarking

Post on May 5th 2012, 1:29 am by NINTENBRO82

Nice job SKTTR! You have produced one of the best written reviews on the entire site. You should be very proud my friend. Your grammer was almost flawless. I could only spot one grammatical mistake, but I'll read through once more to make sure. I was undecided about this game, but you have actually persuaded me with your review to give it some more thought. Congratulations on producing your very first gaming review on WiiWareWave! I hope to have the pleasure of reading another of your excellent reviews in the future my friend.

Post on May 5th 2012, 1:48 am by Rukiafan

Amazing review SKTTR and great format....actually I think we should edit all the reviews with the game/developer info and points/msrp as SKTTR did at the start of his review and maybe a catchy tagline or a catchphrase like I use on my reviews and articles now since it's both professional and awesome. Wink

Post on May 5th 2012, 12:35 pm by SKTTR

@Brian:

Cool man. Thank you for adding screenshots! Looks like it can go to quality check now and then being officially released. Razz

I've added a link to a trailer as well..

My next review is another WiiWare game: the topdown 'Micro Machines' inspired RUSH RUSH RALLY RACING. Review is in the works. Still have to complete all races on the harder difficulties. Hope to get it done by the time it reaches North America. If it reaches North America.


@WAU:

If there's something weirdsounding, name it, and I'll try to find a better use of words. Razz

Thank you.

Post on May 5th 2012, 2:07 pm by NINTENBRO82

SKTTR, it would probably be a much faster and easier process, if I were to just revise it for you. I would only make very minor adjustments and nothing major at all. You could always read through it after I've done so, before it's actually posted for the viewing of the general public. I'll wait until you let me know how you feel about this matter, before I dare revise anything. By the way, the grammatical mistake I was referring to was an error in punctuation. Now that you mention it, there are a couple places where the addition of a couple words would read a little better.

This review is really good SKTTR Surprised

Fair review.

Post on May 5th 2012, 4:45 pm by Punnyguy

Nice review!

Post on May 5th 2012, 7:11 pm by SKTTR

WiiAboutU wrote:SKTTR, it would probably be a much faster and easier process, if I were to just revise it for you. I would only make very minor adjustments and nothing major at all. You could always read through it after I've done so, before it's actually posted for the viewing of the general public. I'll wait until you let me know how you feel about this matter, before I dare revise anything. By the way, the grammatical mistake I was referring to was an error in punctuation. Now that you mention it, there are a couple places where the addition of a couple words would read a little better.
I really appreciate your offer, but that is too much of a favor to ask. I need critics that point out the oddballs and throw in examples on how things can sound better. I prefer to actively learn better English. I will update the review accordingly.


Staroceancrazy wrote:This review is really good SKTTR Surprised
Thank you.


Ulqiorathegreat wrote:Fair review.
Always. Thank you.


Punnyguy wrote:Nice review!
Nice Punnyguy! Thank you.

Post on May 5th 2012, 8:04 pm by Amufungal

This review is an amazing review SKTTR Smile

View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 3]

Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next

Reply to topic

Permissions in this forum:
You can reply to topics in this forum