Advertisement
Latest Topics
Topic
History
Written by
Megaman Starforce 3: Black Ace: Review by KingreX32
First Look: Tiny Galaxy
Review: Art of Balance (Wii U eshop)
Review: Ping 1.5+ (Wii U eshop)
Review: Lone Survivor: Director's Cut (Wii U eshop)
The video games alphabet
Comment On The Avatar of The Person Above You
Super Smash Bros. for Nintendo 3DS Discussion - SPOILER WARNING!
eshop: Giana Sisters 2 is currently in development and will release on the Wii U!
DLC: B Dasher Kart From Mario Kart DS Will Be One of The New Vehicles Added To MK8 Via The First DLC Pack
Today at 5:56 pm
Today at 5:53 pm
Today at 5:51 pm
Today at 5:48 pm
Today at 5:47 pm
Today at 3:16 pm
Today at 3:16 pm
Today at 3:15 pm
Today at 3:12 pm
Today at 3:11 pm
Anime_Gurl
Anime_Gurl
Anime_Gurl
Anime_Gurl
Anime_Gurl
Shino Asada
Shino Asada
Shino Asada
Shino Asada
Shino Asada

2 FAST 4 GNOMZ (WiiWare) Review551

You are not connected. Please login or register

Reply to topic

View previous topic View next topic Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

SKTTR


Admin
Admin


2 FAST 4 GNOMZ (WiiWare)

(C) 2012 QubicGames

Developer: QubicGames
Publisher: QubicGames
Website: www.qubicgames.com
Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LdvyEUulNwg

EU Release: 2012-04-26
NA Release: 2012-02-23

Players: 1
Wii Points: 500
Genre: Runner / Autoscrolling Platformer

Review written by SKTTR for WiiWareWave 2012-05-05.



R U 2 FAST 4 GNOMZ?

Polish developer QubicGames worked on two GNÖMZ games for WiiWare at the same time: The multiplayer arena platformer GNÖMZ that was released in December 2011, and the single player runner game 2 FAST 4 GNOMZ which was released in April 2012 and is a completely different experience compared to the first game.

As with every game in the runner genre 2 FAST 4 GNOMZ is an autoscrolling jump & run. You automatically run from left to right through grassy areas, rocky mountains, icy caves, and a magical forest, and you just have to jump with the 2-button at the right time (holding the Wiimote sideways) to overcome obstacles like pits and spikes. In the first few stages you only need to jump and open your parachute by pressing 'UP' to float over gaps that are too wide for a normal jump. You can also use the wind to levitate to greater heights. Later on you learn new moves: Press 'DOWN' to change into the strong red Gnom that pounds the ground and crashes through trees and press 'FORWARD' to change into the super speedy blue Gnom. That's when the game gets serious and shows its full potential. There's another move to discover that is messing things up quite nicely.


The level design is very clever and incredibly challenging with lots of different traps to avoid and socks to collect. There's a fair amount of checkpoints and if you die you just respawn instantly at the last one you crossed. You have unlimited lives as well. And you get a death counter just for fun: as long as you try a stage it counts your deaths and it resets back to zero if you choose to go back to the map or when you manually restart the level. On the map you can select all the levels you have unlocked. The game saves your progress each time you set a new time record, a new sock record and each time you unlock a new level. There are 3 separate profiles to choose from and they show your completion percentage.

The game comes in a nice hand-drawn 2D comic look, although the presentation is a bit on the lacking side. The graphics are good for the most part and the speed is just crazy but occasionally there's the odd graphic glitch. The title screen with its blurry text comes across cheap, and there's not much music apart from a few gnömzy tracks. On the other hand it tries to balance out these minor presentation flaws with a silly little story: a few funny cutscenes as you make your way through the game, with a few cameo appearances of characters from the first GNÖMZ game. The story is quite a Super Mario Bros. rip-off as it takes full force on the "Your princess is in another castle"-cliché.

The EU version has only English screentext but everything is pretty self-explanatory.


For just 500 Wii Points this is a well-made little runner, with spot-on controls and pretty good content (40 stages + 40 bonus stages, collectables, and best times). Recommended for fans of extremely fast platformers and runners, fans of simple games with some depth and lots of challenge.

I have completed this game 100.0% - the percentage on my profile says so - but it shouldn't. There's one stage where I couldn't get all socks. It's bonus stage 30 - "Titanic". I can only get 24/26 socks in this stage. Two socks are INSIDE spikes! Is it a bug or a clever trick? And should I complain? At least the game is generous giving me 100% despite missing 2 out of a thousand socks.

If you want first-hand impressions there is a free 2 FAST 4 GNOMZ Demo available in the Wii Shop.

SKTTRSKORE: 8/10

8- Great This is a great game that might have a few flaws or could have been better, but is still a game we highly recommend!



Last edited by SKTTR on May 17th 2012, 6:38 pm; edited 15 times in total

View user profile http://www.backloggery.com/skttr
Share this post on: Excite BookmarksDiggRedditDel.icio.usGoogleLiveSlashdotNetscapeTechnoratiStumbleUponNewsvineFurlYahooSmarking

Post on May 5th 2012, 1:29 am by NINTENBRO

Nice job SKTTR! You have produced one of the best written reviews on the entire site. You should be very proud my friend. Your grammer was almost flawless. I could only spot one grammatical mistake, but I'll read through once more to make sure. I was undecided about this game, but you have actually persuaded me with your review to give it some more thought. Congratulations on producing your very first gaming review on WiiWareWave! I hope to have the pleasure of reading another of your excellent reviews in the future my friend.

Post on May 5th 2012, 1:48 am by Rukiafan

Amazing review SKTTR and great format....actually I think we should edit all the reviews with the game/developer info and points/msrp as SKTTR did at the start of his review and maybe a catchy tagline or a catchphrase like I use on my reviews and articles now since it's both professional and awesome. Wink

Post on May 5th 2012, 12:35 pm by SKTTR

@Brian:

Cool man. Thank you for adding screenshots! Looks like it can go to quality check now and then being officially released. Razz

I've added a link to a trailer as well..

My next review is another WiiWare game: the topdown 'Micro Machines' inspired RUSH RUSH RALLY RACING. Review is in the works. Still have to complete all races on the harder difficulties. Hope to get it done by the time it reaches North America. If it reaches North America.


@WAU:

If there's something weirdsounding, name it, and I'll try to find a better use of words. Razz

Thank you.

Post on May 5th 2012, 2:07 pm by NINTENBRO

SKTTR, it would probably be a much faster and easier process, if I were to just revise it for you. I would only make very minor adjustments and nothing major at all. You could always read through it after I've done so, before it's actually posted for the viewing of the general public. I'll wait until you let me know how you feel about this matter, before I dare revise anything. By the way, the grammatical mistake I was referring to was an error in punctuation. Now that you mention it, there are a couple places where the addition of a couple words would read a little better.

This review is really good SKTTR Surprised

Fair review.

Post on May 5th 2012, 4:45 pm by Punnyguy

Nice review!

Post on May 5th 2012, 7:11 pm by SKTTR

WiiAboutU wrote:SKTTR, it would probably be a much faster and easier process, if I were to just revise it for you. I would only make very minor adjustments and nothing major at all. You could always read through it after I've done so, before it's actually posted for the viewing of the general public. I'll wait until you let me know how you feel about this matter, before I dare revise anything. By the way, the grammatical mistake I was referring to was an error in punctuation. Now that you mention it, there are a couple places where the addition of a couple words would read a little better.
I really appreciate your offer, but that is too much of a favor to ask. I need critics that point out the oddballs and throw in examples on how things can sound better. I prefer to actively learn better English. I will update the review accordingly.


Staroceancrazy wrote:This review is really good SKTTR Surprised
Thank you.


Ulqiorathegreat wrote:Fair review.
Always. Thank you.


Punnyguy wrote:Nice review!
Nice Punnyguy! Thank you.

Post on May 5th 2012, 8:04 pm by Amufungal

This review is an amazing review SKTTR Smile

Post on May 5th 2012, 8:14 pm by SkywardL

I try out the demo and I wasn't expecting that type of speed from the little gnome. 2 Fast indeed.

Post on May 5th 2012, 9:31 pm by NINTENBRO

I finally just tried out the demo, even though it's been available for awhile now. I didn't expect the demo to last as long as it did. I didn't really care for the art direction, but the level design is very ingenius and well thought out. I'd say it is well worth 500 points, just for the amount of levels alone. I believe any platformer fan would be delighted with this purchase, but it's not really for me. If I had 500 points in my account, I would probably just spend it on another NES VC title. If you happen to enjoy forced sidescrolling platformers, you should definitely think about spending 500 points on 2 Fast 4 Gnomz. The visuals aren't anything special, but you might actually find them enjoyable. The level design is where this game really shines. I haven't experienced the entire game, but I have a good understanding of what it would entail.
It would most likely receive a 7/10 from me. I didn't take points away, because I didn't really care for the art direction. I took points away, because I noticed a few glitchy and badly programmed backgrounds. If I had enjoyed the art direction and there were no glitchy areas in the backgrounds, I would've awarded it the same score as SKTTR did. Otherwise, I don't believe it deserves an 8/10. This is only my opinion, though. Your's may differ.

Post on May 5th 2012, 10:17 pm by SKTTR

If you rate the demo a 7 then the 8 for the full game isn't too far fetched I think. Wink

The games full potential unfolds when you get the Speed Gnom. Until then you won't ever know if you are 2 FAST 4 GNOMZ! I doubt the demo allows to get you that far.

Unfortunately the demo is not out in EU, so I can't compare.

I mentioned the odd graphic glitches in my review as well. They didn't happen very often though. Maybe a problem with the demo?

Post on May 6th 2012, 12:34 pm by MechaFreiza

Sweet review dude.

Post on May 6th 2012, 2:27 pm by SKTTR

@Sailormoongal: Thank you.
Good to see people liking it.

@SkywardL: If you think this is 2 fast,
wait until you get to see the snow stages.

@MechaFreiza: Thank you very much.

Post on May 6th 2012, 6:56 pm by Epona

Um....nice review Smile

Post on May 7th 2012, 12:30 pm by SKTTR

Epona, Thank you.


I worked on the design a bit now that I borrowed a laptop. Nothing special. I have used it on my new review as well. Hope it's ok.

Post on May 17th 2012, 6:54 pm by SKTTR

The 2 FAST 4 GNOMZ Demo is now available in Europe as well.
(Updated that part of the review.)

Post on May 17th 2012, 7:13 pm by Chrono_Cross

Definitely have to play the demo after reading this. Great review as always SKTTR. Smile

Post on June 10th 2012, 1:10 pm by Shino Asada

This looks a little like Bit Trip Runner to me lol. Laughing

Post on June 15th 2012, 6:20 pm by ZezHylia

You're as good as Corbs from NL! Very Happy

Post on July 3rd 2012, 10:53 am by Kushina

Beautiful review SKTTR! I love you

Post on July 14th 2012, 1:04 pm by Clαππαd

I'll be honest I did not like this game, but I can see why some people would.

Post on August 28th 2012, 11:59 am by Akatsuki

Your review is so good. You should review games more often! Very Happy

Post on September 3rd 2013, 1:50 pm by ToughGamer

Good review.

Post on September 21st 2013, 2:11 pm by FM_Alchemist

Good review and I agree with it wholeheartedly.

Post on September 21st 2013, 3:23 pm by NINTENBRO

This game is really good, but the 3DS version is so much better.

View previous topic View next topic Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Reply to topic

Permissions in this forum:
You can reply to topics in this forum