Share
20120218

Review: Fishing Resort (Wii Retail) Empty Review: Fishing Resort (Wii Retail)

Message reputation : 100% (9 votes)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Fishtastic?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Review: Fishing Resort (Wii Retail) 5643big

Two words are usually enough to describe most fishing games, casual, and bad.

Luckily this isn't the case with Fishing Resort!

Gameplay/Story:

You start off by creating your own avatar afterwards you are shown a nice little cutscene showing you arriving at the first resort followed by a quick tutorial on bait fishing. You'll start off catching only small fish, but after a few tackle upgrades, and helping a few fellow fishermen you will soon be landing fish well over a meter long!

Review: Fishing Resort (Wii Retail) Fresort2

This game has very functional controls, and a huge selection of tackle available at the shops around the island. The game also features many massive fishing environments to explore by foot, boat, bicycle, and other forms of transportation!

The island also features many types of locations ranging from sandy ocean beaches, deep sea trolling, boat fishing at lakes, river fishing, and even ice fishing!

The rod/reel bundle version includes a easy to use attachment for your Wiimote, and Nunchuk, but I think the Wiimote, and Nunchuk alone are a little more responsive.

Review: Fishing Resort (Wii Retail) Pbucket

Fishing Resort also features an online tournament leaderboard where you can compete against other fishermen around the world, and try earn points to show how good you really are!

You can also have friends join you for some local multiplayer while shore fishing by having them grab a Wiimote and pressing A while you are in cast mode to drop in, and give you a hand!

You also will obtain an aquarium to keep all of your catches, and can upgrade the decorations using your hard earned fishing points to make your aquarium look awesome!

Review: Fishing Resort (Wii Retail) Pbucket

Graphics/Sound

The graphics in Fishing Resort are stunning, and truly showcase the power of the Wii console! The water glistens in the sun, the fish look like the real thing, and even the environment looks better than most fishing games from the other current generation consoles!

The only thing I can complain about is the fact that the only weather in this game is varying levels of cloudcover, and sunny, but this is only a very minor complaint.

The music in this game is only played in the hotel areas, and while fighting fish, but each area has a different fish battle music, and most set the tone for the action you experience while reeling in the larger fish in the area! The sound effects such as waves, fish jumping, reeling in your line etc. all add to the experience.

Review: Fishing Resort (Wii Retail) Pbucket

Difficulty/Controls

The game is easy to pick up, but hard to master since some fish especially the legendary ones can be hard to find, and catching some of those huge or strong fish can be very challenging until you learn how each fish behaves. The controls are very solid, and the motion controls actually feel like they belong in this game instead of feeling like some sort of gimmick!

Bottom line

With amazing gameplay, intuitive controls, and a huge amount of content you will be hooked almost immediately to this gem of a game, and the beautiful graphics, excellent music, and gameplay that can prove challenging will keep you coming back for more!

Score 9.5/10 ☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆

9- Awesome This game has little in the way of flaws, and is a highly enjoyable experience.


This review can also be read here


Last edited by Reanfan on October 16th 2017, 8:02 pm; edited 5 times in total

____________________________
Review: Fishing Resort (Wii Retail) Rukiafan7
Share this post on:diggdeliciousredditstumbleuponslashdotyahoogooglelive

Comments

Towafan7
@Staff pics are needed, I don't have access to a cpu ATM. Neutral
Megatron2000
I'm glad to see Fishing Resort get a score it deserves |D
Great review Rukiafan |D
[NL] Fishing Resort
This is the best Fishing Resort review that I've seen so far :->
Towafan7
Thanks for your compliments. Wink
pinkiepie
what pics do you need? I don't have this game though so I can't contribute my own.
Towafan7
The pics are already added. Wink
TY for asking. Wink
pinkiepie
cool! good review too! ^_^
Chrono_Cross
Good going Rukiafan, now I have to go get ANOTHER game. Razz

I hope it's under $20 though. Sad
Towafan7
It's $19.99 new for the game only, and $29.99 new for the bundle. Wink
Chrono_Cross
Getting the bundle. Just saw that Xseed made this. Insta-buy. Very Happy
Jnes5
on February 18th 2012, 8:33 pmJnes5
Im not into fishing games to be quite honest... but this sounds very interesting though, to the point that I might consider getting this one...

But good review Rukiafan ! it's been a long time since you've posted a review ! Wink
Towafan7
on February 18th 2012, 8:44 pmTowafan7
Message reputation : 100% (1 vote)
Thank you, I'm actually about to finish my Ogre Battle 64 (VC) review, as well as 2 other surprise Wii reviews. Wink
pinkiepie
wish i had more money for games.
Towafan7
@pinkiepie wrote:wish i had more money for games.
Same here, I keep having to sell my old games, and retro games to afford to buy new games. Crying or Very sad
RoboYoshi
I have a question is this a duel layered game?
This game sounds too good to be true Surprised
A fishing game that does not suck confused
pinkiepie
Rukiafan wrote:
@pinkiepie wrote:wish i had more money for games.
Same here, I keep having to sell my old games, and retro games to afford to buy new games. Crying or Very sad

yah I had to sell some of my other junk to buy skyrim.
SkywardL
I click "Like" on your review. Sounds like a game that is worth investing.
Zatchbell
A good game, and it's a fishing game? Surprised
This sounds like a solid game for only $20 Surprised
Mouser
on February 19th 2012, 7:08 pmMouser
It looks like I'll be having some fun fishing trips in my house on weekends soon =)
Marth
on February 19th 2012, 11:18 pmMarth
Thanks for reviewing this one properly when so many seem to misunderstand its purpose. I'll be hunting down the bundle in stores for the proper experience.
Marioman18
I hope this gets released in Pal regions soon so I can play this game back at my family's summer home Neutral
Towafan7
Thank you for all your positive comments. Embarassed
Towafan7
@Yoshi you may want to purchase this from Amazon before the sell out, because this is nearly impossible to find at local retailers. Wink
FuManchu
Wow this sounds good. Surprised
Towafan7
This is a very good game that shouldn't be confused with shovelware. This is easily the best fishing game ever released, and should be purchased by those interested in the genre or the sport itself. Wink
KingreX32
Enjoy
http://kingrex32.webs.com/apps/blog/show/13578341-fishing-resort-review-by-stinkerbri
John Knight
This looks like a solid attempt by Prope to create a fishing game that both the hardcore and casual crowds can enjoy, but it seems it's more than just good. Surprised
ShounenMania
This is the best fishing game ever released imo good review Brian. Review: Fishing Resort (Wii Retail) 631737971
NINTENBRO
I believe that is everyone's opinion DBZmania. Well, for those who've already had the pleasure of experiencing it. Wink
Anonymous
on June 22nd 2012, 4:36 pmGuest
I can't find Fishing Resort anywhere. Is this game rare or something?
Punnyguy
This sounds like a whale of a fishing game. Smile
KingreX32
@Punnyguy wrote:This sounds like a whale of a fishing game. Smile

Well played sir
Inoue79
Fishing Resort is my favorite game of all-time! Your review is the best one I have seen for Fishing Resort. Wink
Towafan7
This review should be reformatted and the broken image in the review should be replaced. Wink

Thank you all for supporting this great game. Wink
Towafan7
Bump.
Anonymous
on July 14th 2012, 12:27 pmGuest
Fishing Resort is such a beautiful and relaxing game. I love you
Ms_Kinomoto
Um....I still play Fishing Resort every week it is just so fun Smile
Talesfanatic
This is the most positive Fishing Resort review on the internet and the one I agree with the most!
Tasuki
Wow nice review. I somehow missed this game when it came out but I have been seeing everyone talking about this game on the forums so I had to check out the review to see if its worth getting. Looks like I will be picking it up a new game.

Just one question my son really likes to play the fishing hut in OoT and I too find myself spending some time on that when I play OoT. Would this game appeal to someone who loves the fishing pond in OoT?

Towafan7
Yes, actually it's much much better and is probably the only fishing sim on a home console that is actually fun since Bass Landing for the original Playstation and even that game doesn't hold a candle to this one. Wink
Anonymous
on August 22nd 2012, 10:10 amGuest
@Tasuki you'll love Fishing Resort! I love you
Tasuki
OK thats good to know. I have tried other fishing games from all kinds of consoles NES, SNES, PS, PS2 even PC but I just can't find one thats as good as the fishing pond in OoT lol especially for my son. Going to check and see how much it is on Amazon.
Staroceancrazy
I suggest buying Fishing Resort from Amazon anyways unless you're willing to drive to a hundred stores before you finaly find a copy of this game in-stock Neutral
Everyone is correct this game is awesome!
There is a reason why the Fishing Resort Lodge Club thread has darn near 600 posts Very Happy
ToughGamer
This is one of the best casual games on Wii worth every penny.
Aqua Cherry Blossom
Good review, I will pick myself up a copy when it's released in pal regions this December lol. Smile
RWBY_Red
I love Fishing Resort it is the best fishing game in the history of fishing games. Smile
FM_Alchemist
This game might be the only good fishing game ever released. I completely agree with this review!
KIBAxHINATA
Finally a reviewer that "gets" the game. Great review @Rukiafan!
Towafan7
Thanks for all of the comments you guys and gals! Wow Fishing Resort is now over $80 on Amazon with used copies around $50-$60! Prinny
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum