Share
20111108

Review: Gnomz (WiiWare)

Message reputation : 94% (18 votes)
Is Gnomz a garden treasure or an unwanted buried dog bone?



Gameplay
The gameplay is quirky and fairly fun and the 25+ stages have their own hazards and elements to them,this game feels sort of like Metroid physics meets Mario Bros. Arcade with some Super Smash bros. thrown in, it's difficult to describe but is a good formula. I found a problem with the controls though it may be just me but they felt really awkward as the button mashing in this game can cause you to  accidentally jump to your doom in certain stages, but at least it wasn't unresponsive.


The game also features many power-ups that make things hectic and evens out the playing field between expert players and novice players. My personal favorite was the rainbow sock which takes out any gnomz surrounding the person why picks the rainbow sock up!
The computer A.I. is actually very nicely programmed and provides a good challenge.

Another issue I had with this game was the lack of missions in the one player modes which makes this game exceptionally dull and takes away any sense of accomplishment when playing alone.
There are a few unlockable levels, but they are so simple to unlock that they may as well be unlocked from the start.
I suggest playing with some friends as this game is easily an 8/10 with 4 players.

For those of you who have played Mario Wars will feel right at home playing this game since the gameplay is very similar in Gnomz!



Graphics and Music

The graphics in the game are cute yet detailed and really look polished for a WiiWare title. Character models are detailed and colorful and the levels are beautifully designed and have a clever layout in most cases!
The soundtrack is okay but fails to really fit the hectic gameplay.



Bottom Line-This game is a great multiplayer experience despite its flaws with great gameplay beautiful graphics,and creative levels, but the single player experience feels a bit flat and the music isn't that good. So if you want a single player experience you might want to pass on this game, but if you want a fun multiplayer free for all I would say this is a good buy!

Price- 1000 points

Score ☆☆☆☆☆☆ 6.8/10

6- Decent This game has flaws or major flaws such as, poor controls, bad gameplay elements, poorly implemented gimmicks, minor sound or graphics issues etc. But can be fun, but not necessarily as fun as you'd hope.


Last edited by Reanfan on October 22nd 2018, 1:49 pm; edited 5 times in total

____________________________


Share this post on:diggdeliciousredditstumbleuponslashdotyahoogooglelive

Comments

Ganondorfthewicked
on November 8th 2011, 6:08 pmGanondorfthewicked
Message reputation : 100% (2 votes)
It sounds good considering it only got a score of 6.8 Neutral But I guess it does have some flaws so I'll wait to see if a demo will be released.
Aqua Cherry Blossom
I think the lack of a decent single player mode is enough to make me not purchase this game.
Fox_McCloud
on November 8th 2011, 8:02 pmFox_McCloud
I'll pass.
MetalShyGuy
on November 8th 2011, 8:09 pmMetalShyGuy
Message reputation : 100% (1 vote)
This sounds much better than most Wiiware party games.
Kung-fu Pikachu
on November 8th 2011, 8:27 pmKung-fu Pikachu
@MetalShyGuy wrote:This sounds much better than most Wiiware party games.
Thank goodness for that. Laughing
Mouser
on November 8th 2011, 9:46 pmMouser
This sounds better then I was expecting. Surprised
Nell TU
on November 8th 2011, 11:11 pmNell TU
Has this been released in the german region?
SKTTR
on November 9th 2011, 3:57 amSKTTR
Eureka wrote:I think the lack of a decent single player mode is enough to make me not purchase this game.

My concern.

Rukia, maybe you can add a line about the single player content and options? As it seems there are no missions, no story, no achievements, no unlockables, but at least computer-controlled gnömz-bots you can set on different difficulty levels.... is that right? Well, I will buy this game no matter what, I think me and my friends can get a 8/10 or 9/10 out of this in the 4-player modes.

We'll see, will post my impressions when it's available in EU.

@Nell TU wrote:Has this been released in the german region?

No. Gnömz wasn't released in any PAL region yet.
Towafan7
on November 9th 2011, 4:08 amTowafan7
I added your requested details about the one player features Wink
SuperVash
on November 9th 2011, 12:05 pmSuperVash
6.8 is higher then I was expecting to be honest Razz
Itsame
on November 9th 2011, 12:50 pmItsame
Pass
Trinity33
on November 9th 2011, 2:05 pmTrinity33
How many levels are packed into Gnömz?
Retro Gamer
on November 9th 2011, 6:09 pmRetro Gamer
@Trinity33 wrote:How many levels are packed into Gnömz?
Read the review Razz
Amufungal
on November 9th 2011, 6:30 pmAmufungal
Very good review Rukiafan Smile
Staroceancrazy
on November 9th 2011, 7:05 pmStaroceancrazy
I don't think I would like this game after reading this review Sad
Robj76
on November 9th 2011, 8:44 pmRobj76
Message reputation : 100% (1 vote)
This might be my chance to destroy that Travelocity gnome. Razz
Good review admin.
MetroidBlaster
on November 10th 2011, 12:31 pmMetroidBlaster
A bad single player mode?
I think I will pass Sad
Inuyasha4z2
on November 10th 2011, 9:26 pmInuyasha4z2
I have no interest in purchasing this game.
NINTENBRO
on November 11th 2011, 4:50 amNINTENBRO
@Inuyasha4z2 wrote:I have no interest in purchasing this game.
Those were my sentiments exactly, and this review only supports that belief.
Grumblevolcano
on November 11th 2011, 12:44 pmGrumblevolcano
I may consider a purchase if this game happens to get released in my region at some point.
Vespa
on November 12th 2011, 6:43 amVespa
I agree with this score. Might have to buy a different game.
NINTENBRO
on November 12th 2011, 7:02 amNINTENBRO
@Vespa wrote:I agree with this score. Might have to buy a different game.
Yeah, I think I'll have to wait and see what, "2 Fast 4 Gnomz," will end up being like.

Last edited by WiiAboutU on November 13th 2011, 5:01 pm; edited 1 time in total
GhastlyRockets
on November 12th 2011, 12:14 pmGhastlyRockets
It wasn't worth the 1000 point price. It might have been worth it at 700 points Neutral
Navi
on November 12th 2011, 3:01 pmNavi
This review just reinforced my lack of interest in Gnömz.
MechaFreiza
on November 13th 2011, 12:41 pmMechaFreiza
I think I would rather save my points for La Mulana.
ZezHylia
on November 13th 2011, 1:01 pmZezHylia
Sorry but this doesn't sound very fun D:
SKTTR
on November 13th 2011, 5:44 pmSKTTR
I still want this. Need a fresh 4 player party game. I have enough people that would play this with me.
Hope it comes out in EU.

Any infos about the next game in the series: 2 FAST 4 GNÖMZ? Sounds like GNÖMZ RACER! Interesting, could this be a racing game?
Bit-Trip
on November 15th 2011, 12:45 pmBit-Trip
I don't think it's worth as much as an N64 game....
SheldonTheGenius
on November 15th 2011, 4:36 pmSheldonTheGenius
@SKTTR I think 2 Fast 4 Gnömz is going to be a racer.
If this had online multiplayer I would add your FC in an instant.
Gold_Miner
on November 15th 2011, 4:46 pmGold_Miner
This review has changed my mind about not wanting this game. Mad
FuManchu
on November 30th 2011, 4:58 pmFuManchu
I don't want this. It sounds like rubbish.
PrinnyDood
on December 1st 2011, 2:07 pmPrinnyDood
This could be interesting, but I certainly won't pay 1000 points for this Neutral
PhoenixSage
on December 9th 2011, 8:58 pmPhoenixSage
I really disagree with this review, this game is awful no matter how many people are playing
I DO NOT recommend this at all Sad
Towafan7
on December 9th 2011, 9:10 pmTowafan7
What did you dislike about the game? Your opinion matters as well, but you have to explain why you don't like a game so people can understand your viewpoint. Wink
LizofDoom
on July 24th 2012, 11:45 amLizofDoom
Good review.
For those who don't know about WiiWareWave's scoring policy read the faq.
A 6.8 here isn't a bad game, but for 1,000 Nintendo points I wouldn't buy this game.
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum